Over 90 guests attended the club’s annual presentation evening held at Bury’s Masonic Hall on Saturday 9th December. Chair of Trustees, Mark Granby, outlined the club’s many achievements over 2023 and thanked club’s volunteer coaches, officials and helpers. The club’s Honorary President’ Jean Simpson MBE, presented the awards.

The coaches athlete of the year awards went to:

Michael Hunter and Afroditi Kalambouka (Masters), Martin Clerk and Sinead Taylor (Seniors), Jay Cook and Rosella Togo (under 20s), Peter Gardner and Jemima Miles (under 17s), Will Watson and Carraghen Spence (under 15s), Harry Dada March and Laila Musvamhiti (under 13s), Ethan Statham and Kathryn Wolstenhome (under 11s) and Kai Hilton (under 9).

The Team Managers awards went to:

Harry Dada March and Agatha Wragg (YDL Lower), Jay Cook and Rosella Togo (YDL Upper), Sammy McBride-Duerden and Isabella Robinson (Cheshire League), Peter Gardner and Mae Gardner (Northern League Junior) and Michael Arain and Beverley McAuley (Northern League Senior).

The Senior’s Grand Prix awards went to:

Martin Clark and Hannah Lucas (Seniors) and Rob Fowler and Rachel Marshall (Masters).

The new Bury AC representative medals, for club members selected for their county or international competitions, went to:

Anna Gisbourne, Evie Elliott, Rosella Togo, Peter Gardner, Jay Cook, Jemima Miles, Oliver Cooper, Lucy Dent, Ben Coop, Sam Smyth, Sophie Whittaker and Blessing Idoko.

The Trustee’s annual awards went to:

Oliver Cooper (the Sandra Newton Memorial Award for the highest ranked field event athlete)

Ethan Statham (the JT Ratcliffe Memorial Award for the most competitive club member)

Anna Gisbourne (for the most improved club member)

Elaine Quick (the club volunteer of the year)

Byron Edwards (the club member of the year)