Bury Athletic Club held their annual presentation evening at St Anne’s Church Hall on 14th October. The awards were presented by newly elected Honorary President Charlie Deane.

The first categories of trophies to be presented were the coach awards going to athletes in the different age groups. For the under 11s the recipients were Finley Collings and Nyah Coates; the under 13s went to Jay Cook, Gilbert Vaughan and Freya Potts and the under 15s Brandon Quinton and Daisy Worthington. In the older age groups the winners for the under 17s were Stefan Kalambouka and Hattie Vaughan; the under 20s Sophie Whittaker and Josh Birmingham; the seniors Ben Coop and Lizzi Cheshire and the masters Giles Bennett and Katie Geelan.

Next awards were presented to the winners of the seniors Grand Prix competition. Ben Coop won the men’s competition with Byron Edwards winning the master’s award. Katie Geelan was the women’s champion with Alison Dale taking the master’s prize.

     Ben Coop and Katie Geelan

The team manager’s awards were then presented. For the YDL Lower League competition, the winners were Gilbert Vaughan and Katherine Townsend. The YDL Upper League awards went to Sam Pakes and Charlotte Larkin. Bury has performed well in this year’s Cheshire League competition and team manager Brianne Turner chose Thomas Mahoney and Hattie Vaughan as her stand out athletes. Giles Bennett, the North of England League team manager had reported how difficult it had been to pick winners as there had been many excellent performances, but ultimately he selected Emmanuel Mufakzi and Nicola Quick as the winners.

The committee’s special awards were then presented. The JT Ratcliffe award for the most competitive athlete was awarded to Jay Cook who had competed in over 70 events in a Bury vest. The Sandra Newton Memorial Award for the best field event performance went jointly to Grace Goodsell and Roger Morley who are both ranked 6th in the country for the triple jump in their respective age groups. The Best Club Member award went to Alison Dale who works tirelessly for the club, coaching, officiating, competing and volunteering. The Most Improved Athlete award went to Ben Coop.

A draw was then held for the club’s allocated place in the London Marathon, with five names going into the hat, all of whom had not made the initial ballot. The winner was Colin Smith.

Finally, the AAA grade certificates and badges were presented, with 29 athletes achieving at least one of the standards. The following grades were achieved:

Grade One

Grace Goodsell (100m and long jump); Jerel Livingston (long jump);Brandon Quinton (1500m) and Daisy Worthington (800m, long jump and pentathlon).

Grade Two

Marcus Dey (1500m); Grace Goodsell (200m); Brandon Quinton (800m); Hattie Vaughan (pole vault) and Daisy Worthington (300m, 75m hurdles and high jump).

Grade Three

Patrick Clarke (high jump and long jump);James Coghlan (long jump); Jay Cook (high jump, shot and discus); Jena Dickinson (75m); Enya Hartley (75m); Abigail Howard (150m and 75m hurdles); Jerel Livingston (100m, 200m and 80m hurdles); Freya Potts (1200m); Charlotte Speakman-Farnworth (800m); Sophie Whittaker (3000m); Nathan Witkowski (high jump); Francis Woodcock (1500m) and Daisy Worthington (200m and shot).

Grade Four

Patrick Clarke (80m hurdles and pentathlon); James Coghlan 9200m); Jay Cook (long jump and javelin); Jena Dickinson (100m, 200m and long jump); Oliver Donnelly (1500m); Amy Garroch (75m hurdles and javelin); Grace Gibson (800m); Grace Goodsell (high jump); Ella Hall (shot); Enya Hartley (200m); Abigail Howard (100m and high jump); Erin Kenyon (1500m); Charlotte Larkin (100m); Jerel Livingston (high jump); Oliver Makinson (3000m); Connie Potts (800m); Freya Potts (800m); Charlotte Speakman-Farnworth (300m and pentathlon); Katherine Townsend (300m and high jump); Millie Uprichard (75m, 150m and 200m); Gilbert Vaughan (800m, 1500m and discus); Gina Walker (200m); Nathan Witkowski (75m hurdles) and Daisy Worthington (javelin).