Red Rose Cross Country

Last updated: 5th January 2019

Bury AC compete in the Red Rose Cross Country league, which takes place every autumn.  The competition is open to athletes of all age groups, from U11 upwards.  Our team manager is Alison Dale.  Entry for the series is £6; if you wish to enter, leave your money in an envelope with your full name on it in the box in the clubhouse by Tuesday 2nd October at the latest.

Fixtures & Recent Results

2018 fixtures are as follows:

  1. Saturday 13th October – Leigh     Leigh Sports Village   Results
  2. Saturday 10th November – Bolton      Leverhulme Park   Results
  3. Saturday 17th November – Rossendale      Marl Pits Sports Centre    Results
  4. Saturday 1st December – Todmorden     Centre Vale Park   Results


Start times & distances

Race start times are the same at all fixtures, and are shown below.  Distances vary by course but are approximately as stated below.

12:15  Under 11 Boys  (approx. 2km)
12:30  Under 11 Girls  (approx. 2km)
12:45  Under 13 Boys  (approx. 3km)

13:00  Under 13 Girls  (approx. 3km)
13:15  Under 15 Boys & Girls  (approx. 4km)
13:35  Under 17 Boys & Girls, Junior, Senior and Vet. Ladies  (approx. 5km)
14:15  Junior, Senior, & Veteran Men  (approx. 10km, except Rossendale 7.3km)


Team:  Team points are calculated using the finish positions of the first three athletes in each category (six for junior/senior men and four for veteran men).  The lowest aggregate score wins.  Non-scoring athletes still play a key role by finishing ahead of members of other teams, thus increasing the points aggregate of rival teams.  The aggregate score across all four fixtures gives the series winner.

Individual:  In all individual sections the competitor with the lowest aggregate of points from their best three races at the end of the season shall be declared the individual winner.

More detailed rules and information about scoring can be found here.

Past results

2017:  Leigh      Chorley         Bolton      Rossendale     Series      Award Winners

2016:  Leigh      Blackburn      Bolton      Rossendale      Series

2015:  Leigh      Hyndburn      Bolton      Rossendale      Series